Main content of the website

  • font sizeA
  • A
  • A

First Selectman


The Town of Monroe is proud to announce that it is ranked top five safest places to live in Connecticut according to national and state statistics.  It has a rich history, vibrant community and bright future. Monroe is an old town with new spirit.

Incorporated in 1823 and named after the fifth President, James Monroe, Monroe celebrated its Bicentennial in 2023. A community rich in history and suburban charm, we welcome everyone to come visit our farmer’s market, summer festivals, outdoor concerts, and community events. Monroe also offers award winning blue ribbon school systems, state championship sports programs, and our nationally recognized robotics teams.  

Monroe is one of the most desirable places for young families seeking homeownership, work opportunities and a healthy lifestyle. Our family oriented community and close proximity to multiple cities makes Monroe one of the most convenient commuter places to live in Connecticut. While celebrating our waterfront venues, well maintained parks, and our natural trail systems, Monroe offers breathtaking outdoor experiences.   

The Town of Monroe is committed to enhancing the quality of life for its residents and visitors. Please take a trip to Monroe and see for yourself. You might want to stop into one of our many high quality restaurants or sit at a cafe to have coffee with a friend. You will find our residents and business owners to be warm and welcoming.

If you want to learn more about Monroe – email our office here.

First selectman Terrence P. Rooney was first elected in 2023 is currently serving his 1st term in office. The First Selectman is elected for a two year term during the municipal election (odd numbered years). 

As per the Town Charter, The First Selectman is the chief executive officer of the Town and has all of the executive powers vested by law or by Charter, except as otherwise provided or limited by the Town Charter.  The First Selectman shall not engage in any other employment during the term of elected office.  The duties of the First Selectman include administration of all departments and agencies of the Town, making reports to Town Council as a non-voting participant, approval or veto of Town ordinances, appointing Town electors to boards and commissions, and making final appointments of Town employees except as provided otherwise in the Charter.   (The full list of duties is provided in Chapter III of the Town Charter.)

Terry Rooney
First Selectman

Additional Links


Monroe Town Hall
7 Fan Hill Road
Monroe, CT 06468

First Selectman
Terrence P. Rooney

Administrative Assistant
Kerry McAndrew

Office & Communications Assistant
Megan Morley

Phone: (203) 452-2821

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 8:30AM - 4:30PM
Friday: 8:30 AM - 1:30 PM

Click Here to contact the First Selectman's Office.